跳至内容

WorldACD 每周航空货运趋势 - 第 9 周

2024 年前两个月吨位增长 +13%

WorldACD市场数据公司的分析显示,今年前两个月全球航空货运需求比去年同期增长了131TP5吨,其中来自中东和南亚(MESA)的需求继续激增,货运量也从正常的农历新年(LNY)季节性下降中恢复过来。

2 月份的初步数据显示,航空货运吨位同比(YoY)增长了 8%,尽管根据 WorldACD 数据所涵盖的每周超过 450,000 笔交易来校正今年 2 月份多出的一天,2 月份的前 28 天与 2023 年 2 月份相比仍增长了 4%。在此之前,根据 WorldACD 修订后的数据,1 月份的吨位同比增长了 17%。但是,由于每年春节时间的不同--今年的 2 月 10 日比去年的 1 月 22 日晚了三周--往往会使头两个月的单月比较变得复杂,而两个月的综合比较通常更有意义。2024 年 1 月和 2 月的综合数据显示,与去年同期相比,今年 1 月和 2 月的吨位增加了 13%,如果不包括额外的闰年日,则增加了 11%。

今年迄今为止的许多模式与去年相似,尽管由于农历新年较晚而推迟了三周,但今年的需求比去年同期略强。与去年一样,农历新年过去三周后,需求已或多或少地从农历新年后的低迷中恢复过来,包括来自亚太主要原产地的需求。

具体到最近一周,第 9 周(2 月 26 日至 3 月 3 日)全球总吨位与前一周相比增加了 2%,而第 8 周则反弹了 13%。在此之前的两周,即春节前后,全球总吨位分别下降了-111TP5 吨和-101TP5 吨。

两周比较

将比较期扩大到两周,第 8 周和第 9 周的吨位与前两周(2Wo2W)相比增加了 +7% ,主要是受 LNY 后亚太地区需求反弹的推动,亚太地区的吨位增加了 +15% 。亚太地区至欧洲的运输量和亚太地区至北美的运输量增长了+3%,但亚太地区内部(亚太地区始发地至其他亚太地区目的地)的运输量在第8周和第9周出现了+44%的恢复,与第6周和第7周的总吨位相比,大致反映了去年的模式。亚太地区内的运输量在春节前往往会大幅下降,而在春节后则会迅速恢复。亚太地区内部运输量的强劲复苏,使第 8 周和第 9 周的亚太地区始发吨位比去年同期增加了 3%。

其他洲际航线的吨位也出现了强劲反弹,包括从欧洲(+21%)、中东和南亚(+16%)以及北美(+8%)运往亚太地区的入境运输。

随着新年、农历新年和情人节等复杂因素的逐渐消散,同比比较再次变得更有意义,尤其是与去年同期相比,今年有一个很大的变化。在第 8 周和第 9 周,来自中东和南亚 (MESA) 原产地的吨位环比继续大幅增长(+22%),原因是亚欧主要海空枢纽继续录得吨位激增,这与红海集装箱航运受到干扰有关。与前两周相比,不含中东和非洲地区的货运量增加了 3%,尽管周环比(WoW)计费重量略有下降,这可能是由于 LNY 后航空货运需求(相对)减弱所致。但鉴于目前红海局势的恶化,这种趋势--亚欧海空服务需求和除中东和非洲地区外的吨位--很可能会在一定程度上持续下去。

最近几周,迪拜、科伦坡和曼谷等亚欧海空枢纽的航空货运需求异常旺盛。
第 9 周迪拜至欧洲的航空货运量仍是去年同期水平的两倍多(+154%)。但第 9 周的周环比(WoW)货运量比第 8 周减少了 23%,表明需求可能有所放缓。

科伦坡-欧洲的需求也呈现出类似的模式,第 9 周的吨位同比增长了约 +35%,但与前三周的 +80% 相比则大幅下降。第 9 周科伦坡-欧洲的吨位比第 8 周减少了 42%,这也表明需求有所放缓。曼谷-欧洲的模式略有不同,第 9 周的吨位同比增加了 32%,与前一周相比保持稳定(+2%)。

科伦坡以外地区的房价环比大幅上涨(第 9 周为 +36%),而迪拜以外地区(-3%)和曼谷以外地区(-13%)的房价则略有下降。

全球定价视角

在全球范围内,第 9 周的平均价格为每公斤 $2.27 美元,比去年同期低 16%,其中除欧洲和北美地区外的价格分别下降了 -29% 和 -20% ,除亚洲地区外的价格下降了 12%,而除中东和非洲地区外的价格则同比上涨了 +13% - 这是唯一一个价格上涨的原产地。与前两周相比,中东和非洲以外地区的运价上涨了 7%。

全球平均运价仍大大高于科维德事件前的水平(与 2019 年 2 月相比,+27%)。全球航空货运的总体运力与去年同期相比仍有大幅增长(+9%),尤其是亚太地区以外(+14%)和中南美洲以外(+14%)。

更多细节,请参考WorldACD每周报告

下载报告 更多信息

你邮箱里的最新趋势?

注册接收我们的趋势信息。

"* "表示必填项目

命名*
隐私权*

有兴趣了解更多

填写表格以获得更多信息或计划进行在线演示。

WorldACD电话图标

+31 20 379 2799

WorldACD邮件图标

contact@worldacd.com

链接
WorldACD主页图标

WorldACD Market Data B.V.
荷兰阿姆斯特丹 De Ruijterkade 143, 1011 AC

"* "表示必填项目

命名*
航空货运市场趋势
隐藏的
回到顶部

Skip to content

WorldACD Weekly Air Cargo Trends – week 9

Tonnages up +13% in first two months of 2024

Worldwide air cargo demand was up by +13% in the first two months of this year, compared with the equivalent period last year, with demand continuing to surge from Middle East & South Asia (MESA) origins, and tonnages recovering from the normal Lunar New Year (LNY) seasonal dip, analysis by WorldACD Market Data reveals.

Preliminary figures for February indicate that air cargo tonnages were up +8%, year on year (YoY), although correcting for the extra day in February this year, the first 28 days of February were still up by +4% compared with February 2023, based on the more than 450,000 weekly transactions covered by WorldACD’s data. That follows +17% higher tonnages in January, YoY, based on revised figures from WorldACD. But the variation in the timing of LNY each year – coming three weeks later this year on 10 February, compared with 22 January last year – tend to make single-month comparisons complicated in the first two months, with combined two-month comparisons usually more meaningful. Combined figures for January and February 2024 show a +13% increase in tonnages this year compared with the equivalent two-month period last year, or +11% if the extra leap-year day is excluded.

Many of the patterns so far this year are similar to those of last year, although delayed by three weeks because of the later LNY, and with demand somewhat stronger this year than in the equivalent weeks last year. Like last year, three weeks on from LNY, demand has more or less recovered from the post-LNY dip, including from the key Asia Pacific origin region.

Looking specifically at the last full week, total worldwide tonnages were up +2% in week 9 (26 February to 3 March), compared with the previous week, following a +13% rebound in week 8. That followed declines of -11% and -10% the previous two weeks, immediately before and after LNY.

Two week comparisons

Expanding the comparison period to two weeks, tonnages in weeks 8 and 9 are up by +7% compared with the previous two weeks (2Wo2W), driven mainly by a post-LNY rebound in demand from Asia Pacific, where tonnages were up by +15%. Asia Pacific to Europe traffic and Asia Pacific to North America traffic rose by +3%, but intra-Asia Pacific (origin Asia Pacific to other Asia Pacific destinations) traffic saw a +44% recovery in weeks 8 and 9, compared with the combined tonnages in weeks 6 and 7, broadly mirroring last year’s patterns. Intra-Asia Pacific traffic tends to fall more sharply in the lead up to LNY and recover more rapidly after LNY. That strong recovery in intra-Asia Pacific traffic helped bring origin Asia Pacific tonnages +3% higher in weeks 8 and 9 than this time last year.

Other intercontinental routes seeing strong rebounds in tonnages, on a 2Wo2W basis, included inbound traffic to Asia Pacific from Europe (+21%), from Middle East & South Asia (MESA) (+16%), and from North America (+8%).

As we begin to move clear of the complications of New Year, LNY, and Valentine’s Day, year-on-year comparisons become more meaningful again, and particularly highlight one big change this year compared with this time last year. Tonnages from origin region Middle East & South Asia (MESA) remain up significantly, YoY, in weeks 8 and 9 (+22%), YoY, as key Asia-Europe sea-air hubs continue to record a surge in tonnages, linked to the disruptions to container shipping in the Red Sea. Compared with the previous two weeks, tonnages ex-MESA are up by +3%, although week-on-week (WoW) there is a slight softening in chargeable weight that could be explained by a post-LNY (relative) weakening of air cargo demand. But given the current worsening situation in the Red Sea, it is likely that this trend – of elevated demand for Asia-Europe sea-air services and tonnages ex-MESA – will continue, to some extent.

Asia-Europe sea-air hubs such as Dubai, Colombo and Bangkok have in recent weeks experienced exceptionally high air cargo demand.
Dubai-Europe air cargo traffic in week 9 remains at more than double (+154%) its level this time last year. But week-on-week (WoW), tonnages in week 9 are -23% below their level in week 8, suggesting a possible softening in demand.

Colombo-Europe demand shows a similar pattern, with tonnages in week 9 around +35% up, YoY, but well down on the +80% figures of the previous three weeks. And Colombo-Europe tonnages in week 9 were -42% below those in week 8, also suggesting a softening in demand. Bangkok-Europe patterns are slightly different, with tonnages in week 9 up +32%, YoY, and holding firm (+2%) against those of the previous week.

Rates ex-Colombo are up significantly (+36% in week 9), YoY, whereas they are down slightly ex-Dubai (-3%) and ex-Bangkok (-13%).

Global pricing perspective

Globally, average rates of US$2.27 per kilo in week 9 are -16% below their levels this time last year, with rates ex-Europe and ex-North America down by -29% and -20%, respectively, and prices ex-Asia down by -12%, while rates ex-MESA are up by +13%, YoY – the only origin region to record increased pricing. Compared with the previous two weeks, rates ex-MESA are up, by +7%.

Average global rates remain significantly above pre-Covid levels (+27% compared to February 2019). And overall worldwide air cargo capacity remains significantly up on last year’s levels (+9%), most notably ex-Asia Pacific (+14%) and ex-Central & South America (+14%).

For more details, please refer to the attached WorldACD weekly report.

Download report

Latest trends in your mailbox?

Latest trends in your mailbox?

Sign up for our Trends messages.

* Required field




Interested to learn more

Complete the form to receive more info or to plan an online demo.

WorldACD Phone Icon

+31 20 379 2799

WorldACD Mail Icon

contact@worldacd.com

Linkedin
WorldACD Home Icon

WorldACD Market Data B.V.
De Ruijterkade 143, 1011 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands

"*" indicates required fields

Name*
Hidden
Back To Top