跳至内容

WorldACD 每周航空货运趋势 - 第 7 周

亚欧海空枢纽吨位强劲增长

过去几周,由于红海船只遇袭导致集装箱航运中断,托运人继续寻求替代物流解决方案,因此亚欧几个主要海空枢纽的吨位录得强劲增长。

据货运消息人士透露,最近几周,迪拜、科伦坡和曼谷等一些亚欧海空枢纽被大量空运货物淹没,因为货主们希望补充欧洲库存不足的货物,因为通常经苏伊士运河转运的集装箱船被迫绕道好望角进行更长的航程。WorldACD Market Data 本周进行的深入分析证实,与去年同期相比,今年从迪拜、科伦坡和曼谷运往欧洲的空运货物吨位明显增加。

根据 WorldACD 数据涵盖的每周超过 450,000 笔交易进行的分析显示,在 2024 年的前七周,这三个海空枢纽各自飞往欧洲的货运量与 2023 年的前七周相比均增长了 50% 以上,其中迪拜-欧洲的货运量同比增长了 +71%,科伦坡-欧洲的货运量同比增长了 +61%,曼谷-欧洲的货运量同比增长了 +58%。尽管有报道称,经由新加坡和多哈前往欧洲的货运量有所增长,但今年前七周,新加坡-欧洲和多哈-欧洲的货运量同比分别仅增长了 +10% 和 +3%。

与去年 1 月 22 日相比,今年 2 月 10 日农历新年(LNY)的时间较晚,因此很难进行精确的逐周比较,但从头七周的整体情况来看,迪拜、科伦坡和曼谷发往欧洲的货运量明显增加。在定价方面,由于多种变量的影响,包括 LNY 和整个市场的定价与去年同期相比有所下降,因此模式并不明显。

目前还不清楚对海空解决方案的高需求是否会持续到农历新年之后,亚太地区以外的需求通常会在农历新年前激增,随后吨位和价格会下降。在第 7 周(2 月 12 日至 18 日),从迪拜、科伦坡和曼谷运往欧洲的货量仍保持同比增长。第 7 周迪拜至欧洲的运量同比增长了近三倍,达到 +161%,而前三周分别为 +89%、+93% 和 +77%。第 7 周科伦坡至欧洲的货运量是 2023 年第 7 周的两倍多(+112%),曼谷至欧洲的货运量也保持高位(+68%)。

全球比较

与此同时,全球情况显示了传统季节性需求下降的影响,亚太地区以外的需求在 LNY 之后的几天内大幅下降,继第 6 周出现类似的吨位下降之后,第 7 周亚太地区以外的吨位大幅下降,使第 7 周的总吨位进一步下降了 -10%。从全球平均运价来看,今年第 7 周的周环比(WoW)跌幅为-6%,而去年春节后的同一周(第 4 周)的周环比跌幅为-8%,这与大致相似的季节性模式一致。全球平均收益率的下降可以解释为 "混合效应",即亚太地区以外的高收益产量减少导致全球平均收益率下降,而非单个收益率下降。

与前两周(2Wo2W)相比,今年第 6 周和第 7 周的全球总吨位下降了-14%,平均运价保持稳定,运力下降了-4%。低年度对这些数据的主要影响体现在来自原产地亚太地区的吨位减少了-25%(2Wo2W)。即使在减少 25%(2Wo2W)之后,这些吨位仍与去年第 6 周和第 7 周几乎持平(-1%),尽管今年的 LNY 晚了近三周,这表明与去年相比,今年的结构有所改善。

与此同时,中美洲和南美洲原产地的货运量也大幅下降(-27%),2Wo2W,但这主要是由于 2 月 14 日情人节前几周中美洲和南美洲出口的鲜花货运量激增所致。

在今年第 6 周和第 7 周,中东和南亚是唯一一个吨位在 2Wo2W 基础上录得增长的始发地(+2%),这主要是由前往欧洲的 +6% 增长所驱动的。中东和南亚是唯一一个平均运价(2Wo2W)显著上升(+11%)的始发地,中东和南亚至欧洲是唯一一个平均运价显著上升(+18%)的主要洲际航线--这很可能反映了最近几周亚太地区至欧洲的海空联运量激增。

亚太内部经济放缓

全球货运量下降-3%,主要是由于来自亚太地区的货运量下降-7%,而亚太地区内的货运量下降-17%又是主要原因,亚太地区内市场对农历新年假期的到来显然比主要长途市场反应更快。事实上,亚太地区以外至欧洲和北美的货运量分别减少了-4%和-2%,而至中东和南亚的货运量则增加了+3%。而从亚太地区到中美洲和南美洲的航线规模要小得多,按2Wo2W计算,吨位增长了+15%。

欧洲的出港吨位也有所下降(-2%),主要是由于亚太地区的出港吨位下降了-13%。但其他主要原产地均录得增长,其中非洲以外地区增长 41TP5吨,中东和南亚以外地区增长 31TP5吨,北美以外地区增长 21TP5吨。受 2 月 14 日情人节前后期鲜花出口激增的推动,中美洲和南美洲的出口量也略有增长(+1%),其中欧洲的出口量激增(+12%)。

主要洲际航线上其他重要的 2Wo2W 变化包括:从北美到亚太地区的吨位下降了 -11% ,而从北美到中南美洲的吨位上升了 +12% 。除中东和南亚外,运往亚太地区的吨位下降了 -11% ,但运往欧洲的吨位上升了 +6% ,同时该航线的平均运价上升了 +10% 。从中东和南亚到欧洲的运量激增,很可能反映了由于红海集装箱航运持续受阻,部分亚欧海运吨位转为海空运吨位。

同比角度

与去年同期相比,第 6 周和第 7 周的全球总吨位减少了-1%,尽管今年的 "歉收年 "晚了近三周,这再次表明与去年相比,需求水平出现了结构性改善。在大多数原产地地区出现小幅至中幅环比下降的情况下,原产地地区中东和南亚再次异军突起,录得环比增长+22%--这很可能进一步表明亚太地区到欧洲的海运量已转为海空联运量。

在定价方面,第 7 周的全球平均汇率为每公斤 $2.24 美元,比去年同期低 16%,其中欧洲以外地区和北美以外地区的汇率分别下降了-32% 和-21%。尽管如此,全球平均汇率仍大大高于科威德事件前的水平(与 2019 年 2 月相比,+26%)。

全球航空货运总运力与去年相比仍有大幅增长(+9%),其中最引人注目的是亚太地区以外(+18%)和中东及南亚地区以外(+11%)的两位数增长。

更多详情,请下载WorldACD 每周报告

下载报告

你邮箱里的最新趋势?

你邮箱里的最新趋势?

注册接收我们的趋势信息。

* 必须填写




有兴趣了解更多

填写表格以获得更多信息或计划进行在线演示。

WorldACD电话图标

+31 20 379 2799

WorldACD邮件图标

contact@worldacd.com

链接
WorldACD主页图标

WorldACD Market Data B.V.
荷兰阿姆斯特丹 De Ruijterkade 143, 1011 AC

"* "表示必填项目

命名*
隐藏的
回到顶部

Skip to content

WorldACD Weekly Air Cargo Trends – week 7

Asia-Europe sea-air hubs record strong surge in tonnages

Several key Asia-Europe sea-air hubs have recorded a strong surge in tonnages in the last few weeks, as shippers continue to seek alternative logistics solutions due to the disruptions to container shipping caused by the attacks on ships in the Red Sea.

Freight sources have reported, anecdotally, that some Asia-Europe sea-air hubs such as Dubai, Colombo and Bangkok have been inundated with air cargo in recent weeks, as cargo owners seek to replenish stocks in Europe that have run low – because containerships that would normally transit via the Suez Canal have been forced make the longer voyage around the Cape of Good Hope. And in-depth analysis this week by WorldACD Market Data can confirm that air cargo tonnages to Europe from Dubai, Colombo and Bangkok have been at significantly elevated levels this year compared with the equivalent period last year.

Analysis, based on the more than 450,000 weekly transactions covered by WorldACD’s data, reveals that in the first seven weeks of 2024, all three of those sea-air hubs have seen their respective flown tonnages to Europe rise by more than 50% compared with the first seven weeks of 2023, with Dubai-Europe traffic up +71%, Colombo-Europe tonnages up +61%, and Bangkok-Europe volumes up +58%, year on year (YoY). But despite some reports of elevated traffic volumes to Europe via Singapore and Doha, Singapore-Europe and Doha-Europe tonnages were up, YoY, by just +10% and +3%, respectively, in the first seven weeks of this year.

The later timing of Lunar New Year (LNY) this year on 10 February, compared with 22 January last year, makes precise and week-by-week comparisons difficult, but across the first seven weeks as a whole, there is a clear pattern of elevated tonnages to Europe from Dubai, Colombo and Bangkok. The patterns are less clear in terms of pricing, because of multiple variables at play including LNY and the market-wide decline in pricing compared with this time last year.

And it’s unclear currently whether the elevated demand for sea-air solutions will continue significantly beyond the LNY period, with ex-Asia Pacific normally associated with a spike in demand leading up to LNY followed by a subsequent fall in tonnages and prices. Tonnages in week 7 (12 to 18 February) remained up, YoY, to Europe from Dubai, Colombo and Bangkok. Dubai-Europe gains have almost tripled in week 7 to +161%, YoY, while the previous three weeks stood at +89%, +93% and +77%. Colombo-Europe volumes in week 7 were more than double (+112%) the levels of week 7 in 2023 and Bangkok-Europe tonnages also remained highly elevated (+68%).

Global comparisons

Meanwhile, the global picture shows the effects of the traditional seasonal decline in demand ex-Asia Pacific in the days following LNY, with a big decline in tonnages ex-Asia Pacific pushing down overall tonnages in week 7 by a further -10%, following a similar tonnage drop in week 6. Looking at average global rates, we see a week-on-week (WoW) drop of -6% in week 7 this year, compared to a -8% WoW decline in the equivalent post-LNY week (week 4) last year, consistent with a broadly similar seasonal pattern. Those average global yield declines can be explained as a “mix effect”, with reduced high-yielding volumes ex-Asia Pacific causing a drop in the global average, and not by individual rates decreasing.

Expanding the comparison period to two weeks, total combined tonnages for weeks 6 and 7 this year were down by -14%, globally, compared with the preceding two weeks (2Wo2W), with average rates stable and capacity down by -4%. The dominant effect of LNY on these figures can be seen in the -25% drop in tonnages, 2Wo2W, from origin region Asia Pacific. Even after that -25% drop, 2Wo2W, those tonnages are still at almost the same level as in weeks 6 and 7 last year (-1%), despite LNY occurring almost three weeks later this year, pointing towards a structural improvement compared with last year.

Meanwhile, tonnages from the Central & South America origin region were also down significantly (-27%), 2Wo2W, but this was principally due to a spike in flower shipments ex-Central & South America in previous weeks ahead of Valentine’s Day on 14 February.

The only origin region in weeks 6 and 7 this year to record an increase in tonnages, on a 2Wo2W basis, was Middle East & South Asia (+2%), mainly driven by a +6% rise to Europe. And Middle East & South Asia was the only origin region to show a significant rise (+11%) in average rates, 2Wo2W, with Middle East & South Asia to Europe the only major intercontinental lane to show a significant rise in average prices (+18%) – most likely a reflection of the surge in recent weeks of Asia Pacific to Europe traffic converted to sea-air.

Intra-Asia Pacific slowdown

The -3% worldwide tonnage decline was largely driven by a -7% drop in tonnages from Asia Pacific origins – which, in turn, was mainly generated by a -17% fall in intra-Asia Pacific traffic, with the intra-Asia Pacific market apparently responding more quickly than the main long-haul markets to the arrival of the Lunar New Year holiday period. Indeed, ex-Asia Pacific tonnages to Europe and North America were down by just -4% and -2%, respectively, while tonnages to Middle East & South Asia rose by +3%. And on the much smaller lane from Asia Pacific to Central & South America, tonnages were up +15%, on a 2Wo2W basis.

Outbound tonnages from Europe also fell (-2%), on a 2Wo2W basis, mainly due to a -13% drop to Asia Pacific. But the other main origin regions recorded increases, including +4% ex-Africa, +3% ex-Middle East & South Asia, and +2% ex-North America. Tonnages from Central & South America also rose slightly (+1%), driven by a spike (+12%) in volumes to Europe, boosted by a late surge in flower exports ahead of Valentine’s Day on 14 February.

Other significant 2Wo2W changes on the main intercontinental lanes included a -11% drop from North America to Asia Pacific, balanced by a +12% rise from North America to Central & South America. Ex-Middle East & South Asia tonnages to Asia Pacific fell by -11%, but rose by +6% to Europe, accompanied by a +10% rise in average rates on that lane. That surge to Europe from Middle East & South Asia most likely reflects conversion of some Asia-Europe ocean freight to sea-air tonnages, due to the ongoing disruptions to container shipping in the Red Sea.

Year-on-Year perspective

Year-on-year (YoY) comparisons show a -1% decrease in total worldwide tonnages for weeks 6 and 7, combined, compared with last year, despite LNY occurring almost three weeks later this year, again suggesting a structural improvement in demand levels compared with last year. With most origin regions showing a small to moderate YoY decline, origin region Middle East & South Asia was again the outlier, recording a YoY rise of +22% – likely a further indication of the conversion of Asia Pacific to Europe ocean freight to sea-air volumes.

On the pricing side, average worldwide rates of US$2.24 per kilo in week 7 are -16% below their levels this time last year, with rates ex-Europe and ex-North America down by -32% and -21%, respectively. Nevertheless, average global rates remain significantly above pre-Covid levels (+26% compared to February 2019).

Overall worldwide air cargo capacity remains significantly up on last year’s levels (+9%), with, most notably, double-digit percentage increases ex-Asia Pacific (+18%) and ex-Middle East & South Asia (+11%).

For more details, please refer to the attached WorldACD weekly report.

Download report

Latest trends in your mailbox?

Latest trends in your mailbox?

Sign up for our Trends messages.

* Required field




Interested to learn more

Complete the form to receive more info or to plan an online demo.

WorldACD Phone Icon

+31 20 379 2799

WorldACD Mail Icon

contact@worldacd.com

Linkedin
WorldACD Home Icon

WorldACD Market Data B.V.
De Ruijterkade 143, 1011 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands

"*" indicates required fields

Name*
Hidden
Back To Top