跳至内容

WorldACD 每月航空货运趋势特辑

2024 年普通货物的增长将超过特种货物

WorldACD Market Data 的最新分析显示,到 2024 年为止,"普通货物 "航空货运吨位的增长速度将超过 "特殊货物 "产品的增长速度,这扭转了近年来需要特殊处理和运输的航空货运需求增长速度普遍超过普通货物的趋势。

WorldACD 根据其数据库记录的 200 多万笔月度交易对 2024 年头五个月进行的分析表明,2024 年 1 月至 5 月的全球总计费重量与去年同期相比增长了 12%,其中杂货需求同比增长了 13%,而特种货物的增长则滞后于去年同期,为 +10%,如下图所示。这与 WorldACD 去年年底的研究结果形成鲜明对比,WorldACD 的研究结果表明,在 2023 年的前 8 个月中,杂货吨位同比下降了 12%,而特种货运产品的吨位在全球范围内整体增长了 3%,与此同时,整个市场却同比下降了 7%。

其中一个因素是,自去年秋季开始,跨境电子商务运输量强劲增长,而这通常是作为普通货物而非特殊产品类别的散货运输,以及自去年 11 月以来,由于红海船只遇袭导致集装箱运输中断,海运转为空运和海空联运。这两个因素导致截至 2024 年 5 月的五个月内(5 月至今),亚太地区(+20%)和中东及南亚地区(MESA,+22%)的计费重量环比大幅上升,如下所示。

产品类别性能

对今年迄今为止一些主要航空货运产品类别的表现进行分析,可以发现一些有趣的趋势,包括全球易损/高科技货物的运输量增长极为强劲(+25%),肉类运输量也增长了+25%。水果和蔬菜运输量增长了 +10%,贵重物品和鲜花运输量增长了 +6%,而危险品运输量仅增长了 +2%,药品/温控运输量增长了 +1%。与此同时,鱼类和海产品运输量略有下降(-1%),活体动物运输量同比下降-7%,遗体运输量同比下降-10%。

在全球范围内,截至 2024 年 5 月的五个月内,特种货运产品在整个市场中所占比例平均为 35%。但根据货物的原产地进行分析,可以发现它们的比例和各自的增长率都存在一些显著差异(见下图)。例如,WorldACD 的分析显示,在亚太地区的主要原产地市场中,杂货约占 70%,但今年亚太地区特种货物的增长(+24%)高于杂货(+18%)。+24%是所有亚太地区原产地特殊产品类别强劲增长的结果,但医药/冷藏货物除外,同比下降-4%。值得注意的增长领域包括:易损件/高科技产品增长 30%(亚太地区特种货物业务量/公斤数排名第一);水果和蔬菜增长 16%(排名第二);肉类运输增长 67%(亚太地区第五大特种货物类别)。

与此形成鲜明对比的是,在今年受集装箱运输中断影响尤为严重的中东和非洲原产地市场,普通货物的增长(+31%)远远超过了特种货物的增长(+8%)。

香港领跑五月份经济增长排行榜

对全球增减幅度最大的特定国家或次区域市场进行研究,也会发现一些有趣的发展。根据市场重量的绝对变化进行排名,香港在 5 月份出境运输量增幅排名中位居榜首,环比增幅超过 3,000 万公斤(30,000 吨),其次是中国东南部、中国东部、印度和阿拉伯联合酋长国--这意味着 5 月份出境运输量环比增幅排名前五的市场中有四个在亚洲。

在入境方面,阿拉伯联合酋长国次区域在 5 月份的计费重量总增幅排名中位居榜首,环比增幅超过 1,000 万公斤,其次是沙特阿拉伯、美国太平洋沿岸国家、德国和中国东部地区。在这五大入境增长市场中,沙特阿拉伯的环比增幅最大,达到 +44%,其次是阿联酋(+28%)、德国(+19%)、美国太平洋各州(+16%)和中国东部(+17%)。

货运代理的市场份额保持稳定

与此同时,根据 WorldACD 的分析,不同规模的货运代理公司所占的市场份额在全球范围内基本保持稳定,其中超大型航空货运代理公司(每年管理 5 亿公斤以上的货运代理公司)的市场份额保持在 25%。中型货运代理公司(管理 5000 万至 1 亿公斤的货运代理公司)所占份额略有增加,从 8% 增至 9%。

全球各主要地区之间仍存在显著差异,超大型货代公司在欧洲(36%)和北美(31%)的市场份额超过 30%,但在非洲(15%)、中东和非洲地区(17%)和亚太地区(19%)的市场份额不足 20%,中南美洲接近平均水平,为 26%。

机队类型的增长各不相同

对承运商类型及其运营机型的表现进行分析后发现,与去年同期相比,今年前五个月通过货机运输的吨位(同比增长 6%)增长明显放缓,而通过客机(同比增长 13%)和混合机队(同比增长 13%)运输的货物增长更为强劲,因为客机和货机腹舱运力继续回归市场

更多信息

你邮箱里的最新趋势?

注册接收我们的趋势信息。

"* "表示必填项目

命名*
隐私权*

有兴趣了解更多

填写表格以获得更多信息或计划进行在线演示。

WorldACD电话图标

+31 20 379 2799

WorldACD邮件图标

contact@worldacd.com

链接
WorldACD主页图标

WorldACD Market Data B.V.
荷兰阿姆斯特丹 De Ruijterkade 143, 1011 AC

"* "表示必填项目

命名*
航空货运市场趋势
隐藏的
回到顶部

Skip to content

WorldACD Monthly Air Cargo Trends Special

General cargo outpacing special cargo growth in 2024

The growth of ‘general cargo’ air freight tonnages is outpacing that of ‘special cargo’ products so far in 2024, new analysis from WorldACD Market Data has revealed, reversing a trend in recent years in which demand from air cargo shipments requiring special handling and shipping, has broadly outperformed general cargo.

Analysis of the first five months of 2024 by WorldACD, based on the more than 2 million monthly transactions recorded via its database, indicates that total worldwide chargeable weight from January to May 2024 was up +12% compared with the equivalent period last year, with general cargo demand up by +13%, year on year (YoY), and special cargo growth trailing at +10%, as shown in the chart below. This contrasts with findings late last year by WorldACD that in the first eight months of 2023, general cargo tonnages fell by -12%, YoY, whereas tonnages of special cargo products as a whole grew by +3%, on a worldwide basis, at a time when the market as a whole was down by -7%, YoY.

One factor for this is the strong growth since the start of last autumn in cross-border e-commerce traffic, which often flies in bulk as general cargo rather than within a special product category, as well as conversion of sea freight to air cargo and sea-air resulting from disruptions since last November to container shipping due to the attacks on vessels in the Red Sea. These two factors have contributed to significant YoY rises in chargeable weight in the five months to May 2024 (year-to-date May, or YtD May) from Asia Pacific (+20%) and Middle East & South Asia (MESA, +22%), as shown below.

Product category performances

Examining the performance of some of the major air cargo product categories so far this year highlights some interesting trends, including extremely strong (+25%) growth in worldwide shipments of vulnerable/high-tech cargo, along with a +25% increase in meat shipments. Fruit & vegetables traffic grew by +10%, valuables and flowers by +6%, whereas dangerous goods traffic grew by just +2%, and pharma/temperature-controlled traffic by +1%. Meanwhile, fish & seafood saw a small decline (-1%), while live animal shipments dropped by -7%, and human remains by -10%, YoY.

Globally, the proportion of special cargo products within the total market averaged 35% in the five months to May 2024. But analysis according to the origin region of the cargo reveals some significant differences in both their ratios and their respective rates of growth (see chart below). For example, general cargo makes up around 70% of the key Asia Pacific origin market, although the growth of special cargo from Asia Pacific (+24%) is higher this year than for general cargo (+18%), analysis by WorldACD reveals. The +24% is the result of strong growth for all Asia Pacific origin special product categories – except for pharma/temp, which fell -4%, YoY. Notable growth areas included +30% in vulnerables/high-tech (the #1 category in terms of special cargo business/kgs from Asia Pacific); a +16% rise in fruits & vegetables (the #2 category); and a +67% increase in meat shipments (the region’s fifth-largest special cargo category).

In contrast, for the MESA origin market – which has been particularly impacted by disruptions to container shipping this year – general cargo growth (+31%) far outpaced the growth of special cargo (+8%).

Hong Kong leads May growth rankings

Examining specific country or sub-regional markets showing the largest increases and decreases worldwide also highlights some interesting developments. Ranked according to the markets’ absolute changes in weight, Hong Kong tops the May rankings in terms of outbound increases in traffic, with an increase of over 30 million kgs (30,000 tonnes), YoY, followed by China South East, China East, India, and United Arab Emirates – meaning four out of the top five outbound YoY growth markets in May were in Asia.

On the inbound side, the United Arab Emirates subregion tops the rankings in May for total increases in chargeable weight, with a YoY increase of plus 10 million kilos, followed by Saudi Arabia, the USA Pacific States, Germany, and China East. Of those top-five inbound growth markets, Saudi Arabia recorded the biggest YoY percentage increase at +44%, followed by the United Arab Emirates (+28%), Germany (+19%), USA Pacific States (+16%), and China East (+17%).

Market share of forwarders stable

Meanwhile, the market shares held by freight forwarding companies of different sizes remains more or less stable on a worldwide basis, according to analysis by WorldACD, with ultra-large air freight forwarders (those managing more than 500 million kgs per year) maintaining their market share of 25%. There was a slight increase from 8% to 9% in the share held by medium-sized freight forwarders (those managing between 50 million and 100 million kgs).

Significant differences persist between the various main global regions, with ultra-large forwarders holding more than 30% of the market in Europe (36%) and North America (31%), but less than 20% in Africa (15%), MESA (17%) and Asia Pacific (19%), with Central & South America close to the average at 26%.

Growth varies for aircraft fleet types

Examining the performance of carrier types and the aircraft types they operate reveals significantly weaker growth in the tonnages carried via freighters (+6%, YoY) in the first five months of this year, compared with the equivalent period last year, whereas cargo carried via passenger aircraft (+13%) and mixed fleets (+13%) has grown more strongly, as passenger aircraft and cargo belly capacity have continued to return to the market

More information

Latest trends in your mailbox?

Sign up for our Trends messages.

"*" indicates required fields

Name*
Privacy*

Interested to learn more

Complete the form to receive more info or to plan an online demo.

WorldACD Phone Icon

+31 20 379 2799

WorldACD Mail Icon

contact@worldacd.com

Linkedin
WorldACD Home Icon

WorldACD Market Data B.V.
De Ruijterkade 143, 1011 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands

"*" indicates required fields

Name*
Air Cargo Market Trends
Hidden
Back To Top